University of Calgary
UofC Navigation


Photo by Riley Brandt

Congratulations to Dave Snow on receiving a 2nd year scholarship of the prestigious Izaak Walton Killam Scholarship and Killam Research Award for 2013-2014.  In celebration, a dinner was held with the Killam Trustees on Friday, October 18th in honour of the Killam Scholars. 

Killam Scholar Dave Snow by his research poster

photo courtesy of the UToday

Congratulations to Rhiannon Kirkland, former Political Science Honours student, thesis entitled, "Debt and Power: The Impact of Chinese Ownership of US Debt and Assets on Sino-American Relations" published in the University of Miami Undergraduate Journal, The Global Citizen: A Worldwide Forum for International Affairs, 2013, Vol 1, issue 1.  

Dr. Sarah M. Jordaan is an Assistant Professor of Energy Policy and Politics at the University of Calgary. Previously, she worked for the Electric Power Research Institute (EPRI) managing a cross-cutting initiative examining economic, supply and regulatory implications of environmental impacts of shale gas development in the US, including water use, produced water management, life cycle greenhouse gas emissions, and regional air emissions. She was formerly a Postdoctoral Fellow at the Energy Technology Innovation Policy research group at the Kennedy School of Government and Department of Earth and Planetary Sciences at Harvard University. A portion of her research has been conducted with the Laboratory on International Law and Regulation at the University of California, San Diego.  She earned her PhD in 2009 at the University of Calgary in Environmental Design at the Institute for Sustainable Energy Economy and Environment. Her Bachelor's degree is in Physics with a minor in Computer Science from the Memorial University of Newfoundland.

To date, Dr. Jordaan has been involved with projects on (1) quantitative assessments of the environmental impacts of energy systems, (2) life cycle assessment of energy extraction, (3) the impacts of climate policies on water resources, (4) ethical implications of energy extraction and (5) governance of environmental and economic impacts of unconventional fossil fuels in North America.  

In addition to these topics, her interests are energy technology innovation, the environmental, political, and economic impacts of global and regional natural gas production, the implications of energy security policies on the environment and economy, as well as technology and ethics.

Barry Cooper was honoured and celebrated this year at the American Political Science Association (APSA) meeting in Chicago, August 28-September 2, 2013. In addition to a panel on “Hunting and Weaving:  Barry Cooper’s Political Philosophy”, a dinner was held at the Berghoff to celebrate the publication of the Festschrift for Barry Cooper “Hunting and Weaving:  Empiricism and Political Philosophy”, August 2013, edited by Thomas Heilke and John von Heyking, former MA students of the Department of Political Science, University of Calgary.  

Barry Cooper was also one of six scholars awarded an Eric Voegelin Society Order of Merit Medal in recognition of his scholarship and contributions to the Eric Voegelin Society.

Photo Left to Right: David Walsh, Catholic University of America, Washington, DC; Henrik Syse, University of Oslo, Norway; Barry Cooper, University of Calgary; Jürgen Gebhardt, University of Erlangen, Germany; Macon Boczek, Kent State University, Kent, Ohio; William Petropulos, Eric Voegelin Archiv, Munich, Germany.

Kieran Jimenez, MA student (convocated in June) is one of fifteen Canadian students to have a won a Traditional Fulbright Student Award for the 2013-2014 academic year.  Next year, he will attend Columbia University in the City of New York as an independent research student. During that time, he will continue his research in evolutionary ethics, studying under Dr. Philip Kitcher, one of the leaders in the field. 

Tobey Berriault,
Masters Student in the Department of Political Science at the University of Calgary, Interns for UNDP, partnering with the local Namibia Government.

Former MA & PHD student of Political Science, Ian Brodie named as the new Research Director for the School of Public Policy.   

The Council of Canadian Academies announced Dr. Ted Morton to its 12 member Board of Governors.  Congratulations to Ted on his new appointment.   

Congrats to Kieran Jimenez, MA student, who was awarded a Teaching Assistant Excellence Award (one of 5 awarded) in a ceremony on April 24, 2013.  This Student Union award recognizes excellence in teaching and TA's are nominated by students. 

                                                                   (UToday June 12, 2013)
MA Students:  
Olivia Rocskar & Kieran Jimenez 

Richard Sigurdson (Dean, Faculty of Arts), Susan Franceschet (Undergraduate Director), Brenda O'Neill (Department Head), Pablo Policzer (Honours Coordinator), Lisa Young (Dean, Faculty of Graduate Studies)

Amanda Achtman a 4th year political science student received 3rd place inThe Association of Private Enterprise Education (APEE) Undergraduate Research Competition for her research presentation entitled, “Keeping Politics Personal:  Toward a Praxeological Approach to International Political Economy”.  Amanda received her award on April 16th, 2013 at the The Association's International Conference, held in Lahaina, Hawaii. 

Scott Weir, a political science fourth-year student was recognized by theUniversity of Calgary Alumni Association’s 2013 Future Alumni Award for his achievements in urban farming and aquaponics.  Congratulations in receiving the2013 Arch Award.