University of Calgary
UofC Navigation


Doctoral candidate Lauren Moslow's presentation at the Women in International Security and Development Conference, held in Ottawa in May, was judged to be the second best of the 50 that comprised the event.  Congratulations Lauren!

The first Department of Political Science Annual Best Paper & Thesis awards were presented on September 12.

to our graduate students on winning awards for the 2014-15 year:

Congratulations Drs. Rainer Knopff and Gavin Cameron who each received "GREAT Supervisor Awards" from the Faculty of Graduate Studies for their outstanding supervision and mentorship of graduate students.

Susan Franceschet was awarded an Annual Fellowship for 2014-2015 at the Calgary Institute of the Humanities. During her fellowship, Dr. Franceschet will be working on her research project on "Gender, Representation, and the Executive Branch," which is funded by a SSHRC Insight Grant. The project explores how changing norms about representation in cabinets affect the recruitment and success of female ministers. The two case studies for the project are Spain and Chile.

On August 14 Dr. Susan Franceschet spoke on gender quota laws at the seminar "Falta la Otra Mitad," sponsored by the Canadian Embassy in Chile and Corporación Humanas, a Chilean human rights and justice NGO.

After careful consideration of the many good nominations, the Awards Committee is very pleased to announce the winners of the Department's 2013-14 essay and thesis competition:

The 2013-2014 nominations for the Department of Political Science's first annual paper and thesis competition are now complete. We had 20 superb papers and theses nominated from July 1, 2013 to June 30, 2014.

The winning papers and theses will be announced in September 2014 in an awards ceremony to be held in the Department of Political Science.

Congratulations to all the nominees!
Dr. Joshua D. Goldstein
Awards Committee Chair, 2013-2104


At an event marking Jay Makarenko's departure from the department to take up a new and exciting position with the Government of Alberta, department head Brenda O'Neill expresses our sincere gratitude for all of Jay's exceptional work as an instructor over the past three years.

Good Luck!


Brenda O'Neill, Katrine Beauregard, Susan Franceschet

Faculty Members of Political Science
Front Row (left-right): Maureen Hiebert, Brenda O'Neill (Department Head), Lisa Young (Dean, Gradaute Studies), Chris Carlile (GSA Representative)  Back Row (left-right): Richard Sigurdson (Dean, Faculty of Arts), Susan Franceschet, David Stewart, Pablo Policzer, Joshua Goldstein

Congratulations to Jessica Dawn Marie Weber who has been awarded the Faculty of Arts Silver Medallion in Political Science, June 2014. 

Congratulations to professor Melanee Thomas and PhD candidate Lisa Lambert for winning the Jill Vickers Prize for their paper "Private Mom vs Political Dad? Communications of Parental Status in the 41st Canadian Parliament" originally presented at the 2013 Annual General Meeting of the Canadian Political Science Association. The Jill Vickers Prize is awarded each year at the CPSA conference for the best paper presented in English or French on the topic of gender and politics. This is a second win for Melanee Thomas.

The Department of Political Science is currently seeking an Instructor to teach a Summer session course.  For more details, click here.